Holy $#^%!!!

Okay, so probably because we’re planning a summer swing through New Orleans, and because there was just a great article about NOLA food in the NYT, and also because I’ve been watching Treme, I just had to cook a little southern food. For some reason, shrimp and grits popped into my head. I’m not sure I’ve ever even had shrimp and grits. But rather than making just regular ol’ shrimp and grits, I made… the Ultimate Shrimp and Grits!

Oh my.

This was so good. SO good. The kind of good that prevents you from being able to hear or speak while eating. And it was pretty easy to boot. You may be frightened by the seemingly large quantity of heavy cream called for in the grits recipe, but I urge you to cast those fears aside and follow the directions. The grits are stick-to-your-ribs filling, but damn good. Plus, you can justify it by eating a small amount. But you will want them to suck up that beautiful sauce from the shrimp and andouille. Hot damn!


Leave a Reply

